Winter Salad

Good fruit in the winter is sometimes hard to find.  Unless you live in Florida, California or maybe Brazil.  But hey, if you live right smack in the middle of the U.S., don’t forget about the produce aisle.  Here is a delicious and ridiculously simple Pear and Grape Salad.  This salad is great with lunch, perfect for breakfast and a yummy after-dinner dessert.  Make this salad because it’s simple, because it’s cheap, make this because it looks pretty, because it’s in season, because it won’t make your butt big….make this salad just because!

Winter Grape Pear Salad

  • 1 cup Red Seedless Grapes, quartered
  • 1 Bosc (or Anjou) Pear, peeled and thinly sliced*
  • 1 tbsp. Orange Juice
  • 3-5 Fresh Mint Leaves

Combine all ingredients and enjoy.  Yes, it’s that simple!  For a little crunch and protein pow you could add a few sliced almonds on top.

*I have been sharing this salad with my 11 month old daughter, and I don’t feel like her little system is ready for the skin of a pear so I peel the pears.  You can certainly leave the skin on if you prefer.

About squashblossombabies

I am a foodie and a mommy, sharing my passion for good food and exposing my family to new flavors.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit, Side Dish, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Winter Salad

  1. ammaponders says:

    I need a fruit salad recipe for my granddaughter’s 1st birthday party. Thanks!
    And I’ve saved several of your recipes for her. I like your site.

  2. zenobia says:

    Such a refreshing and innovative salad. So easy too! I’m going to try this as soon as I can get my hands on some red grapes.

  3. Do you believe that I just had this for a snack? But I also added in some bleu cheese :) It goes really well with pears and grapes.

  4. Terra says:

    I love this salad! I need to start using more mint, it is so refreshing, AND delicious!!
    Take care,
    Terra

  5. tiffany says:

    This is a great winter salad!

  6. That looks like a lovely fresh idea for a quick breakfast – will have to give this a try soon!

  7. Manu says:

    Yum! I love mint with fruits!!! And your suggestion about putting some sliced almonds on the top is really good! :-)

  8. The Mom Chef says:

    Sometimes simple ends up being best and I think you’ve hit on it with this recipe. It looks very refreshing and tasty. I’ll be sharing it with my 4 year-old! Thanks for passing your inspiration along.

  9. This looks so refreshing and healthy! Lovely. Well done on the top 9!

  10. what a simple, yet healthy and sweet salad!! i love clean salads :)!

Leave a Reply

