Fish Failure!

So….do you know that chick?  You know that chick with the perfect hair that always seems to do everything just right!?!  Yes, her!  With her perfectly pressed shirts, well-behaved kids, clean car, manicured hands and she is never frazzled!  Well, everyone…..that’s NOT me!  And I’m glad that’s not me.  Alright, I wouldn’t mind having perfectly manicured hands all the time!  But still what fun is it to have everything perfect, and when do you ever learn anything if you never fail!?!  Right?  Well, here is the story of my most recent failure.  hohum…..

I don’t particularly care for fish.  I can make friends with some shrimp, crab and lobster…but who can’t be friends with those lovely little guys!  Anyway, fish….I don’t like it, I don’t like smelling it, I don’t want to talk about it, I don’t want it in my kitchen and I certainly don’t want to cook it!  BUT you see, I have this little baby now and fish is SO stinkin’ good for you and well, it’s time I put on my big girl pants and eat some fish with my baby girl!!!  I had planned to introduce fish to her when she was 10 months old but….I’m about a month behind.  Hey, I’m not perfect!

So I finally decided it was time.  Fish time!  I did all my research and determined that cod would be the best first fish for my little girl.  My only other experience with cod was in England where it was battered, deep fried and served along with classic chips, mushy peas and a tall dark ale that made everything ALL RIGHT!  Well, obviously none of those things are options for us now.  So I had this brilliant idea to marinate the fish and then bake it.  All I can say is ICK!  Seriously it was so yucky!  It was edible, my husband said it’s “okay”……I think he just didn’t want to hurt my feelings so I won’t give up on fish…..you see, he LOVES fish and he really wants me to play nice and invite fish over to our kitchen more often.

I had pumped myself up all week and was actually excited about our fish night.  But oh my, what a disappointment.  My hubby and I ended up reheating the leftovers from the night before!  BUT the good news is that my daughter loved it!!  She ate the fish finger food style and she was all about it!!!  woohoo!

So maybe the first fish experience for my little girl wasn’t a total failure.  I’m sharing this with you all so that I will force myself to make another fish dish and the next fish dish shall be a fish dish success!  I hope!  Until then, let me know if you have any happy, healthy fish stories.

About squashblossombabies

I am a foodie and a mommy, sharing my passion for good food and exposing my family to new flavors.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fish Failure!

  1. I have a fantastic Talapia recipe for you, its not fishy at all.

    PARMESAN TALAPIA
    1/2 c. parmesan cheese
    1/4 c. butter
    3 T. mayo (I used Miracle Whip)
    2 T. lemon juice
    1/4 tsp. basil
    1/4 tsp. black pepper
    1/8 tsp. onion salt
    2 lbs. Talapia ( I got mine at Aldi’s )

    Mix ingredients together, set aside. Grease pan and evenly space fish.
    Broil for 2-3 minutes. Flip, repeat. Remove from oven.
    Spread top side of fish with butter mixture. Broil 2 more minutes or until golden brown.
    Serve fish with pan drippings on top.

    We served this with Uncle Bens wild rice and steamed brocolli.
    Seriously, be brave and try it…….YUM!!!!!!!!! :)

    Oh, I think I may have this in my recipe box on Tasty Kitchen…….

  2. Nina says:

    Here are all of this fish dishes we have tried and they are all good.

    http://www.mommacooks.net/category/fish/

Leave a Reply

