Get the White Out

No, not that kind of white out, there are no typos here.  I’m talking about Pediatrician Dr. Alan Greene’s campaign to end white rice cereal for babies.  He is on a mission for every baby’s first grain to be a whole grain and I am on board the whole grain train!  Greene makes the comparison that feeding your baby white rice cereal is like feeding your baby Wonder Bread.  Seriously!?!  Who eats white bread these days?  Let’s get the White Out!  And while we’re at it, why stop at white rice cereal?  How about putting on our blinders to white bread and crackers.  Bring on the Whole Grains!!

I want to emphasize that it is important for your baby to eat an iron-fortified infant cereal to ensure he/she is getting plenty of iron.  This is especially important for exclusively breastfed babies.  I serve up Earth’s Best Organic Whole-Grain Multi-Grain infant cereal for my baby girl.  We usually spice it up with apples or pears and cinnamon.  I also bake teething biscuits with this cereal.

Happy Whole Grains!

About squashblossombabies

I am a foodie and a mommy, sharing my passion for good food and exposing my family to new flavors.
This entry was posted in Sweets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

