I Got A Funny Shoe!

Most of you have gathered that I am a first time mom that loves to bake and cook.  In preparation for becoming a new mom I started reading pregnancy and baby books about a year prior to getting pregnant.  Yes, I’m serious!  As expected, regardless of my attempt to be prepared for everything there have been quite a few surprises.  The most recent of which are shoes!!  I thought that people only put shoes on babies for photo opps or because they think it looks cute.  Well, I’m not one of those people.  I don’t like shoes…heck, I don’t even like socks!  So it seemed totally natural to wait nearly 10 months before putting shoes on my baby girl.  Well, she didn’t think it was very natural.  She cried and screamed and it seemed as though her feet were stuck in cement because she wouldn’t move an inch!  I, of course, started to panic thinking that my little girl will never wear shoes.  All of a sudden visions of a teary-eyed toddler throwing her shoes in the air came to mind!  SO I freaked out and didn’t know what to do…..so I made brownies.  Yes, brownies!  I know this probably won’t make sense to some of you.  However, I’m sure that some of you out there “speak my language” and are nodding your head with a smile on your face as you read this.  Hello Friends!  There is something about chocolate that helps a woman think!  I’m sure there is proof of that somewhere!!  If not, there should be!

Once the brownies fulfilled their duty and I had a chance to collect myself, I realized that this little girl isn’t walking on her own yet, and we’ve still got time to get her little feetsies used to shoes.  Or at least I hope we do!  In my very recent and short research, I have come to realize that shoes on babies is kind of controversial.  But, really what doesn’t start a controversy these days!  Anyway, a friend of mine has an 11-month-old baby that is already walking and running full speed ahead.  That was a surprise, too!  Her little girl wears Skidders.  They are silly looking sock shoes and so far they are a hit with my little girl.

By no means do I plan to keep these sock shoe things on her feet all the time but I’m happy to know that we can start easing our way into shoes.  Feel free to share your shoe stories!  I’d love to see what has worked for anyone else.

About squashblossombabies

I am a foodie and a mommy, sharing my passion for good food and exposing my family to new flavors.
This entry was posted in Sweets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Got A Funny Shoe!

  1. jamie says:

    What sort of tease are you? Those brownie pics arn’t nice.

    However I do like the sock/shoe idea. Our house is cold so i like to keep socks on her feet but those are easily taken off by her. These might stay on longer.

  2. Christine says:

    Loved the post today! Your blog is so fun. I think I need to make some brownies now :)! Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Heather says:

    I am glad we could help. I love those shoes.

Leave a Reply

